I’m the Spinning Parent

We had a wonderful time at the amusement park.  It did what it was meant to do and we were able to shake off some of the gloom and uncertainty.  Okay, so we were wallowing a little.  I came home with a shined up perspective.  We are so new at this, it’s not time to be despondent yet.

We spent part of our day, unintentionally as you do, walking through the kid’s section of the park.  We looked at the tiny roller coasters and miniature cars.  The babies and toddlers looked exhausted – no surprise since, as adults D and I barely were able to filter through the noise and sugar and adrenaline highs.  I can only imagine how hard it must be with fewer years and less experience.  The adults with them seemed to have a natural separation of responsibilities – spinning rides versus roller coaster rides.  D and I are prepared for our next trip with a child.  I’ll take the spinning rides.

So we launch into a peaceful week in the lull between “that sucks” and “let’s see what happens this time”. I’m delighted that we get to go to the beach for a wedding this weekend and very happy not to think about her body for a few days.  At least, not the mucousy part of it!

One Response

  1. That sounds fun, and like a good way to get your mind off things. Our nearest amusement park is far enough away that we would have to stay overnight, and that’s tricky with a herd of goats needing to be fed twice daily. But I think I will try to find something smaller scale and closer to home that’s similar. My husband has been a bit gloomy lately, making illogical comments about how we might never conceive a viable child (hello, we’ve been trying for all of two months) and something that’s just fun would be good for all of us.

Comments are closed.

