THNGVBD

Have you ever read Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day?  It was my sister’s favorite book growing up and the title rings in my head every so often when nothing seems to go right.   Usually though it’s just a day of Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad.  This has been a week of the same.

I realize that, as the not pregnant person, my life is significantly less complicated and my wants, needs and miseries come second.  Unfortunately, I haven’t mastered the ability to be completely selfless while beaming like a loon. I’m having a series of THNGVB moments and I feel like my poor wife is ending up at the bottom.  If I’m going to master this whole absence of needs thing before June, I better get on it.  In the meantime, I’m stuck in this THNNGVB week.

Here is a sampling of my problems:
It’s cold and wet. I usually love rain. What’s wrong with me that I don’t love the rain this week?
The dog was sleeping on the bed. On a trial basis. Now he’s not because a) no room and b) hi, holy terror batman.  A few nights out of his crate and he’s jumping, stealing and scratching.
Our house feels unwelcoming somehow – like it’s giving me the cold shoulder when we come home.  Now I’m making up emotions.  For a house.
The laundry is dirty, and persistent.  I find myself wondering if it’s possible to go to work naked rather than deal with the shocking lack of weather and work appropriate options in the closet.
I’m even tired of my own complaining.

I can hear seasoned mothers (mostly my own) saying lots of things that start with “If you think it’s bad now…” And while, yes, I haven’t forgotten that piece of life trivia that includes a fetus, I’ve still got some time to get used to having no negative feelings whatsoever.   I’m not sure I could even articulate what, exactly, would make this THNGVB week better. And since I’m generally full of solutions for everything, that’s not a very good sign for climbing out of it.

One Response

  1. I love that book 🙂 I have it my classroom and adore it.
    _Peony

Comments are closed.

