Subtract Three from Eighty Seven and…

People, I was bad at Algebra, but this is ridiculous.  Can someone please explain when we can say “I’m 12 weeks pregnant!” and be telling the truth?  Right, then.  Let’s get started.

Tomorrow we will be 12 weeks and 1 day.  Is this then the 13th week?  Assuming at one point we would have been one week and one day (way before.  Yes, I did okay in Geometry) it would actually be eight days which would have been the second week even though it was ONE week and a bit.  And we would have told people (again, I know we weren’t actually pregnant) that we were IN our 2nd week.  So logically, at 12 weeks and 1 day, we’re IN the 13th week. Right? Or…

People, I need to know which week to stalk on every baby website in the world.  This is critical information.  Is it the 12th week?  Is she still supposed to be nauseous?  Or is it the 13th and should she be feeling spry?  Hear that, darlin?  SPRY.  I know that this doesn’t matter really but I’d like to be telling the truth when I say we’re 12 weeks.

Are we 12 weeks all the way through 12 weeks and 7 days?  And if a train is coming toward you from the west at 70 miles per hour and there is a stack of diapers on the track ten inches before the switch, what time will dinner be served on the train approaching from the east 12 weeks later?  WHAT TIME?

Consider this part of my peace of mind.  Actually, consider it part of my wife’s well-being.  Despite my devoted cream rubbing, food tempting and back massaging, her head is beginning to spin a touch when I ask again, how far along are we?  Then it spins, you know just a little, blurring right around the ears.

I promise to stop bemoaning my pitiful math skills in a few weeks.  I vow not to care again until we’re near the end.  However, 12 weeks is exciting and 13 weeks is even better and I’d like to know.  Which is it?!

2 Responses

  1. Heh. Ah, pregnancy math. And the best part is that pregnancy is actually 10 months, not 9! Except how you’re not pregnant for the first month. But it still counts. But once you hit nine months, you’ve still got another month to be pregnant!

    And all those “months” are 4 weeks, period, so they don’t match calendar months anyway.

    12w1d means you’re 12w, but you’re in the 13th week. As for when the trimesters start – that really varies by resource. I read 12, 13 and 14, so I went with 13, because it was in the middle. Heh. It’s all up to you.

    But, unfortunately, bodies don’t really pay attention to such calendars, and many women are still nauseated etc long into the 2nd trimester. (And, unfortunately, it comes back around the start of the 3rd trimester, when there isn’t enough room for your stomach. good times!)

    But regardless – it’s exciting. 😀

  2. I have been wondering the same thing myself! Excellent questions, all. Your post cracked me up.

Comments are closed.

