What Just Happened?

It was a particularly hard week for me. Fortunately, I have tomorrow off while I send my wife and that child off to earn the bread.  Speaking of bread…  Oh, I know, you deserve a better segue than that.  I’m sorry.  Please accept this fruitcake as an apology.

While we’re on the topic of food…I know!  I’m sorry, I can’t help it!  I’d like to tell you something that took an exhausting week and transformed it into something amazing.  My wife consumed an entire plate of food.

Since we’re attempting to give our budget CPR in the form of not gift wrapping each cent and handing it to restaurateurs, we’ve been eating at home this month.  That has involved vats of soup, piles of tangerines, and bits of protein in microscopic amounts.  She gets about two bites down, turns green and sets her dish aside.  I clean my plate and sit, staring solemnly at it and picturing a large, chocolate mousse.  I don’t know if you knew, but you can’t exactly imagine one of those into existence.  No need to thank me for the tip.

So at the tail end of a rough week, it’s not surprising that I forgot to thaw some chicken.  Or that we had eaten all the soup.  And that I wasn’t about to try to dream up a new concoction that wouldn’t be chocolate mousse.  By the way, don’t try to whine to your pregnant wife about your period.  Or, at least remember to duck when she swings her belly at your temple.

So we walked to a favorite restaurant after work.  It was rough and windy outside and warm and friendly inside.  It’s a small place where we’re recognized and it feels a little like supper with friends.  Unlike supper with friends, I managed to order and eat while talking and never taking a breath.  I monopolized the conversation (sorry darlin) and when I looked up, this is what I saw:

I’ve never seen such a beautiful sight in all my life.  Her appetite is back.

I realize the tide could turn at any second, but for one brief moment, we had a quease-free meal.  It was like the sun broke over me and little fairies fluttered all around my ears.  People, I had a moment of hope.  And it was good.

