Four Years and 363 Days

We’re headed to the Outer Banks this weekend to celebrate our fifth anniversary.  On the downside, we’ll be leaving my sister and brother-in-law at our house instead of spending time with them.  On the upside, HOLY COW FIVE YEARS.  And that makes 12 years that we’ve known each other.  Vegas, I sincerely hope I’m not bored by your mother by the time you arrive.  It could happen any time.

I’m looking forward to walking on the beach with her, holding hands and dragging her yet again down stretches of untouched sand looking for just one more shell.  When we conceived, I imagined that she would be giant at this point, possibly unable to keep up with my just a bit further pleading.  I thought she might be waddling.  Or so uncomfortable that she would be unable to sit on the sand with me and watch the sun rise.  I’m not sure why I thought 24 weeks was going to be so overwhelming but I’m very thankful that it isn’t.

Sure, Vegas ratcheted up the shenanigans this week, causing aches and pains and leaving a wake of spite behind him.  But, to be fair, we also shook him up this weekend, what with the stump-digging and branch-sawing of winter clean-up.  And, the six times I accidentally jabbed him with my elbow.  He probably marked that down in his black book too.  IT WAS AN ACCIDENT, for pete’s sake.

So, in lieu of gushing over my wife’s awesomeness, you’ll have to take my word for it.  She’s still as amazing as she was five years ago.

5 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!! 🙂

  2. so sweet! yeah, the waddling won’t happen for about 10 more weeks, but it will come… oh, it will come.

  3. Happy anniversary! Have a wonderful time.

  4. congratulations! what a wonderful milestone! enjoy the trip.

  5. Congratulations! What a wonderful way to celebrate your anniversary, too. I hope you had a great time at the beach (I know we did). Here’s to unending love!

Comments are closed.

