Cavebaby, Part I

D said to me the other day, “Well, when you finally come out…” and she wasn’t referring to my very out gayness.

She was referring to our paleo lifestyle.

There’s no way to put it, really.  No way that sounds like we’ve simply made a decision and moved on.  That’s what it is though.  All the verbs that go with it sound rocky.  We converted… (not a religion).  We’re trying… (not true).  We’re eating… (yes, but not the whole story).  Our diet is… (not a diet in the sense of losing weight).  We are… (we don’t know what we are). And so forth.

I don’t usually go on about food here.  I also think that, in this case, talking about what was would take far more time than what is.  Suffice to say, one day D and I looked at each other and said enough.  We embarked (not a journey) on a paleo-reset in an effort to (not an attempt) change (not completely) the way we were eating to a more healthy (for us) lifestyle.  For 30 days, we ate like cavemen, meat, eggs, vegetables, fruit – as much as we wanted – and nothing else.  Almost literally.

For 30 days, we joked about being caveladies with our cavedog and cavebaby.  When we were on the way home from the gym gnawing on jerky we said we’d found a spare buffalo at the oasis.  When we bit into those juicy cherries it was a gorgeous little cherry tree just north of the elk path.  The fish took some catching – triumphant!  The coffee bean bush caused us to move our cave location til we were right next door.  Cavedog begged for the chicken we caught and, unlike usual, he got no scraps because the caveladies would rather eat their arm than give-up any chicken.  We gave up (not as important as what we didn’t) suger, grains, dairy, legumes.

One of the most important things we faced was how to mange the impression that we were dieting or that we were having some superiority over others who were eating differently.  One part was not telling anyone.  Another part is focusing on the positive we eat this not that’s not allowed.  And, we removed the word “can’t” from the picture.  I don’t eat that.  It’s a choice.  We did follow specific guidelines, but as the 30 days wore on, we realized that we weren’t going back.  Sure, we’d add back in a bit of dairy or the occasional grain, but our food choices would mainly remain the same.

In all of this effort to work on ourselves, we didn’t intentionally make changes to what we offered to RR.  But let me tell you, putting aside how great we look and how good we feel, watching our kid transform into a cavebaby has been the most awesome of all.  Stay tuned…

4 Responses

  1. I try to eat paleo too, but it has been hard converting my bread loving wife and goldfish loving son. I feel much better eating that way and my knees are not screaming at me in pain as much. It has been a good choice for me.

  2. We’re doing low-carb which is pretty much the same except no fruit but okay on cheese. It is sometimes a challenge but I’m starting my second week and feeling pretty good not plowing my body with all those carbs. I was surprised just how much of my daily intake was car-loaded. Amazing.

    • Close, yes. Paleo and primal are relatives! The thing I found most challenging was the emphasis on zero premade foods, canola oil, and other oddities. I hope you’re not feeling as miserable as I was and I’m happy to share some awesome recipes!

Comments are closed.

