Grace

D and I both come from religious families.  Rather, religious histories.  Growing up, we both spent time in church.  Our mothers passed down beliefs and commitments to us, to our sisters.  We both carry that foundation and have been formed by it.  The bedrock doesn’t shift, but in practice we are practical and for us that means we’ve prioritized our beliefs in a way that works for us individually.

Man, I miss grace.

All those times I squeezed my dad’s hand and shared a wink while my grandmother said grace before supper seem at odds with the way I felt over Thanksgiving when we unceremoniously dug into turkey and cranberries.  Whatever grace means to D, whatever grace means to everyone else, for me it’s about family and uniting in thankfulness to her and to my daughter for happiness and fortune.  It’s about blessing the food.  We talked about it on our way home and growing up thankful (for whatever it is) is part of growing up gracious and whole, something we want for RR.

I don’t have a finishing thought on this, but I’m sure there will be more .  Those of you who do bless food (in any way, connected to religion or not), do you do it when you sit down with your child?  When did you start?

 

3 Responses

  1. When we sit down to dinner every night, we take turns saying one thing we are grateful for that day. We call it “Thanks”. I don’t remember when we started it, I know Edie was a wee one and just learning to talk.

  2. Oooh, I’m happy to answer this one! We do “thank yous” at our house. Similar to Becky, above, we hold hands and go around the table saying one thing we are thankful for. We also occasionally sing a grace from my Quaker camp counselor days (like “Johnny Appleseed” or “Welcome Table” ) I lovelovelove doing this–it’s one of my favorite times of day.
    And it’s fun to see what Tadpole comes up with. Mostly it’s whatever is in front of him (“thank you for my mac and cheese and my chair”) but he occasionally comes up with something very sweet.
    I think we started as soon as we started doing family meals together, before he could really talk.

  3. We’ve been saying grace together since pre-kiddo–so nothing new. But, in short, we join hands and have a couple of different rote “graces” in rotation (depending on toddler request). “Bless this food to our use and us to your service and make us ever mindful of the needs of others” (followed by a sung Amen while we bang our joined hands on the table in time) is the one we use most often, and kiddo can say parts of it by himself now (I love it). The rote part is good, just b/c our toddler is such a creature of habit/routine. We also sing the Johnny Appleseed song sometimes (“Oh the Lord is good to me and so I thank the Lord, for giving me the things I need, the sun and the rain and the appleseed”–you can make up hand motions for this one that are fun). And…we have a block made of wood that has a different grace on each side of it, you can roll it and pick the one on top…kind of fun too. With all of these, it’s a really nice way to start our meal…and helps us to center whilst also allowing time to recognize the grace that brings us together(we also do “God blesses” as part of his bedtime routine)

Comments are closed.

