The End of Two

I am going to miss two so much. I know, that is not immediately obvious but that’s because if I talked about how magnificent RR was all the time you’d call social services to discuss my crack habit.

photo (1)

She still can’t pronounce her L sounds. She went to a birthday party and rode on a fire engine, coming home with a red balloon and incredible tales of fighting fires.

I HAVE A BEYOON, MAMA! IMA FIREMAN! I YIKE IT SO MUCH!

photo (3)

She adorably assesses everyone’s personality positively.

He’s a nice man, mama. And you’re a nice yady. Mama’s a nice yady, too. 

She remembers that we’ve been places and that, even though I was out of town at the beginning of last month, I came back as promised. She never misses the opportunity to remind me. The joy in her voice makes me feel like I’m constantly winning at life. Transportation, in particular, is something she’s particularly invested in. There are several train tracks in town and we regularly celebrate their use:

(Upon seeing any airplane and remembering our trip to Chicago) We went to Acado, mama! Member, mama?
(When I open her door after a nap) You came back, mama! I’m so gyad!
(Passing under an unoccupied train track, mournfully) No train taday, mama. No train taday.

Bedtimes follow a strict routine: one story (of late, a modified “Olivia Goes to Venice” – modified because that Olivia has too much sass), one rendition of some small made-up story (of late, Louis the Kangaroo who, unfortunately, loves to bounce so much he hits his head on the moon – despite his mama’s good advice), and one lullaby repeated until she shouts, goat-like, for D to put her in the crib (of late, Kookaburra Sits in the Old Gum Tree). At the conclusion she leans up to whisper in my ear:

I yove you SO much, mama.

photo (2)

Her toys have elaborate conversations. She builds complex block towers and alternates between fearlessly sprinting everywhere she goes and dragging her feet endlessly while she picks dandelions and blows the seeds up into the sky. She climbs the railings lining our concrete steps while D winces and she picks increasingly higher heights to climb onto and jump off off, all while announcing, “I don’t want to fawl, mama, I will never fawl.” She can’t decide.

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 1.26.50 PM

She is able to walk a half mile to the park, play for two hours and walk home again, uphill all the way. She takes several small breaks: to greet a pen of chickens, to peer at the endless construction between home and the park, and to read stop signs. Every so often she asks to ride on our shoulders. Every so often, she takes a moment to fling herself down and enjoy the sunshine.

image

No, two is not so bad at all.

16 Responses

  1. Two is good. But I still miss three. Three is even more fun than two.

    • I’ve heard three is a terror and, as we are heading down the ramp into it, I’m inclined to agree. I’ll take your word for it though! I’m hoping for the best!

  2. Awwww, she sounds like my C2, mispronunciations and all. He’s a little ray of sunshine and all my friends want to take him home. He’s 3.5 now, and still can’t pronounce his L’s, and still wraps his little arms around my neck and says he loves me. At his 3rd birthday, the terrible-ness started a little, mainly stubbornness over something he wants and can’t have. Nothing like C1’s tantrums though, for which I am glad. (C1 is 5.75 and a very good boy, though sensitive like his father, and a colicky baby and tantrum-filled 2-year-old.)

  3. 😀 The girl sounds awesome!

  4. Oh my gosh, this sounds like the BEST. Now I’m super excited for 2!

    • 2 is wonderful! of course, it might be that the shining moments shine all the more because of the quicksand you have to haul them out of. Ahh well, they shine nonetheless.

  5. You two are really yucky mamas.

  6. She is adorable.

  7. I have to say that I’m enjoying two quite a bit myself. Except when it makes me want to pull my hair out.

    Also, I want to see Critter and RR have a conversation. He mostly has his Ls, but not his Ys. So if you ask him if he’s, say, ready to go inside, you’re likely to get a “not let” in response. Also, he has no Fs or Ks. Fs vary, but the Ks he usually replaces with a D or a T. The absent K sound I find particularly entertaining, like when we go for a walk and he spots a cat, which he tends to announce with a ringing “Look! A titty!”

Comments are closed.

