Just Like You

She mows the lawn.
She grills the chicken.
She scoops the cat boxes.
She does the dishes.
I hang cabinets.
I make spaghetti sauce.
I read bedtime stories.
I clean the bathroom.

Our daughter runs barefoot in the yard and eats spaghetti squash with her hands. She gleefully flings her cup into the sink after dinner while yelling, BOOYAH! She rocks with me in the evening and shouts for my wife in the morning. She chases the cats (and the dog) and giggles outrageously when they wave their tails at her. We’re just like the neighbors. Hell, we’re more of a traditional family than they are.

But then…I wear dresses, she wears polo shirts. I delight in picking a new shade of lip gloss, she contemplates cutting her hair shorter. And shorter. At daycare pick-up, our daughter’s friends point out that she has two mommies. We’ve been with the same kids for a year but, for the two year old set, family dynamics never get old. We got each other the same mother’s day card. We’re nothing like the neighbors.

It’s hard not to make being a lesbian family not about rights. After all, we’re a family with or without them. Still, I wonder what the people who are keeping marriage equality from us are thinking. Do they realize that no legislation can keep us from being a family? And a damn good one at that? Not to mention, one just like theirs?

You all! It’s Blogging for LGBT Families Day! Want to see other delightful families being delightful? Go on!

13 Responses

  1. Beautifully said, Meredith.

  2. Agreed. Beautifully said.

  3. Deyiteful!

  4. You are exactly right…. and beautifully so!

  5. Love it sistah!

  6. Word.

    Also, and irrelevantly, I *wish* we could get Critter to fling his cup (and other dishes) into the sink when he’s done, instead of hurling them onto the floor like he does now. Wiping yogurt and rice krispies off the floor is not exactly fun.

  7. Exactly. Thank you for saying it so perfectly. 🙂

  8. Well said! I am glad to have come across your blog, it sounds like we are of like mind 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  9. Your blog post reminds of my family – your point precisely. We are families just like everyone else… great post 🙂

  10. I just can’t get past how you all claim to like spaghetti squash. Unnatural, that’s what I say.

Comments are closed.

