The Frog Work

This morning was RR’s regular Friday morning open house, a weekly opportunity for us to see the work she has been doing and to spend time with other parents watching our kids run on the playground. The change from the previous school to this has been enormous – the parents are so friendly, everyone says good morning, the kids race everywhere and play tag with moms and dads, and the work RR shows us varies tremendously from what we were used to.

For two months of Fridays RR showed us how she dusted with the fluffy duster. Then she showed us that she’d learned to roll her mat. To drop water into tiny cups. To sound out all of her letters. To piece together an abstract puzzle. This morning, she showed us how to turn on a cd player and listen to frog sounds while following along with the pictures. It’s amazing. Especially translated from this:

Last night, after bath
M: What work will you show us tomorrow?
RR: The frog work mama!
M: The frog work?
RR: The frog work goes like this uuuhhhhnnnn (low moaning sound)
M: Oh! (baffled) And what else?
RR: It lives in a tree and goes row (gesturing up and down).
M: Row?
RR: Yes, mama. ROW (placing her hand near the ground). ROW and HIGH!

Oh! And sure enough. The pictures showed frogs in trees and in ponds and the sounds on the CD were that of frogs found in the surrounding county. *I* felt enriched just listening to her describe it. She beamed while listening to the frogs. It’s hard not to beam a bit myself.

One of her teachers writes about Montessori and the works in the classroom – something I find incredibly useful. The school philosophy is a steady undercurrent in her posts and it’s a wonderful way of getting a peek into how life is going at school. Her most recent, on her own knitting work, delighted me. Knowing she and her co-teacher can oversee a large classroom of kids ages 3-6 can in such a way that she can knit (next to my daughter no less!) is better reassurance than anything the literature or director can say about the lifelong skills RR is learning.

 

 

 

4 Responses

  1. This sounds so fun! This is extra motivation for me to generate the money required to send my kids to montessori or the other one that is similar. 🙂 And if not, I suspect there are books about it to give me ideas.

    • There is so much out there on Montessori – it’s an entirely different world from my own childhood and RR’s early days. I can see how different kids thrive in different environments. I’m so happy that we managed to match the right environment to our kid.

  2. That sounds like an incredible school! I’m impressed.

    I am hoping Montessori is the kind of environment Evelyn would thrive in. Now I just have to pinch some pennies to pay the tuition in a couple years.

    • The tuition has been a burden but it is only a bit more than our old school. That said, daycare is SO expensive no matter what it is. Holy cow!

Comments are closed.

