A Well-Timed Break

That sigh of relief you hear is the anticipation of my parents taking a week away to visit my sister and her family. I’m looking forward to putting our dining room table back to its regular 4-person size and having conversations about the day-to-day that don’t involve bringing everyone in the household into the loop (whether it concerns them or not). Debra is probably looking forward to everything about them being gone, which I can’t fault from someone staying with her in-laws. RR is no doubt thrilled to be able to vault over the furniture without enduring disapproving looks. Overall, it hasn’t been terrible but hasn’t been all good. It turns out that Debra, RR and I only have a month of “team” in us before we all disintegrate in our own ways. I hope that a week’s worth of recharging is enough.

7 Responses

  1. SOOO glad you guys are getting a break! I truly believe that a month with my in-laws would kill me. Hands down.

    • In most ways it has been easier than I thought it would be but since they’re my parents and not in-laws I think I probably get a tiny coping edge. At least I know what general patterns to expect, etc!

  2. How long will this carry on? I can’t recall if you’ve told us before. I applaud you for staying sane and not going homicidal. I am not sure I’d have the same restraint.

    • The estimated end date is the beginning of April. The travel they are doing back and for to the house is about an hour each way though and it’s possible they’ll decide the gas money, etc. isn’t worth it and move sooner.

  3. Glad to hear the end is within sight and you are having some well earned family time, just the three of you!

  4. Glad you are getting a break. Hope you don’t break in the process!! I know the feeling of loving your parents and living with them. Totally not a great combo. Hang in there, the both of you!

  5. I have no idea how you’ve made it this long.

Comments are closed.

