Frozen Solid

What is the CRACK that is Frozen?

Is this because we never watched movies before Frozen? I feel like we need a B.F. and A.F. notation to denote which part of our lives happened before they were accompanied by Let It Go and the parts after which involve a lot of serenading.

Also a lot of braiding – LIKE ELSA MAMA! – and dress-wearing – LIKE ELSA MAMA! – and towel cape wearing – LIKE ELSA MAMA! – and long, involved conversations wherein Debra and I are are some combination of Anna, Sped (or Swed), Olaf, and Hans. There is also lots of “Hans Kissing” while RR holds your chin, ever-so-gently, and kisses you. You mustn’t kiss back and, if you keep your eyes open, you can watch her go cross-eyed as she zooms in on you.

This child, who has never touched a doll, suddenly discovered the two she has and christened them Elsa and Anna. They appear suddenly together in odd places although only Anna (my old doll with has clouded over eyes*) goes to sleep with her.

photo 2

Last night she asked me to sing Let It Go to her and Anna but, since I’m not a talented singer, she had to sing it all. the. way. through. twice before I could try again. Spoiler alert: I failed and the ensuing meltdown reached epic proportions.

Friends, I am not alone. Youtube is riddled with other children serenading the camera. Pearl Jam covered it at a concert in Italy. The Boston Globe tries to capture why it’s so popular. It’s not just the 4-yr-olds. It’s catchy, even Jimmy Fallon thinks so.

We’re a little late on the Frozen train but it appears there are no stops to get off. I don’t mind much (she’s super cute when she sings the word fractals) but I’m amazed at her capacity to remember every single word in the script as well as every single move that accompanies it. It all makes sense though. Clearly the reason she hasn’t mastered the potty is that there is physically NO SPACE in her brain for anything else.

Glad we’ve figured that out.

* Mine at 4. Cloudy eyes courtesy of that time she spent the night under the yews on a wad of Big League Chew:

photo 1

 

26 Responses

  1. Yea, I wish you had mentioned your intent – I would have warned you ahead of time 😉

  2. once you drink the Frozen kool-aid there is no going back. This post cracked me up; you have a certified cutie on your hands.

    • I’m sure we all did some sort of equally menacing thing to our parents and relatives. I suspect this is some sort of karmic payoff…

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 9:27 AM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

  3. I am sooooooo happy we dodged that bullet, so happy my tween watched that movie and said ‘huh?’. Then again, I sat through years of bad straight to DVD Barbie films, including what she thought was the ‘original’ Swan Lake and one that inspired her to walk around for a good 2-3 years saying that when she grew up, she was going to be a rock star who sang about “Barbie. Pegasus. The Magic”.
    I don’t think that movie was actually about Barbie being a rock star (admittedly, it was so bad we couldn’t sit through them but instead discovered we had ourselves a free hour), but it certainly inspired Edie to be one.

    • There is no denying the free hour is amazing. I’ll pay the price. I’d also pay to hear a rock star sing about “Barbie. Pegasus. The Magic.” Don’t give up on your dreams Edie!

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 10:27 AM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

  4. Trudy is obsessed. She only knows a few lyrics, and sings (in no particular order): “Let it go, let it go. Looks like I’m queen. Funny how some distance makes everything seem small. Her [snow] never bothered me anyway.” Unless Spotify is tuned to it, and then she does moves and sings every lyric. Hysterically, she sang to our dinner guest last night that he was a bit of a fixer upper. Ha. (we don’t mind it too much, truth be told. It is so much better than the disney of our youth, yes?) (also, we love My Neighbor Totoro even more, if you’re looking for a different movie.)

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I woke up with the fixer upper in my head. I particularly enjoy the “and by the way I don’t see no ring” part, despite its grammatical problems.

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 11:05 AM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

  5. Ummmm hello did you just read my mind or what?? I just posted a Frozen tribute. It’s like we’re Elsa and Anna!! lol

    • Do you wanna build a snowman? …in Hawaii?

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 12:46 PM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

      • Yes, yes I do. It’s sweltering right now and I would definitely like to lay down in some snow and take a nap. Building snowmen involves naps right?

  6. Haha, my WIFE unfortunately drank the Frozen kool-aid!

  7. I may or may not have watched that movie last night. There may or may not (weren’t) children awake and accompanying me. And I may or may not know every single word of let it go and belt it out shamelessly whenever it comes on my pandora.

    May or may not.
    Crack.

  8. My cousins kids love that movie. When we had them for the day, the 3 yr old walked around the dog park reciting the lyrics. It was cute.

    • Watching little kids recites words like that is so cute. Definitely better when they’re kids we *like* 🙂

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 6:50 PM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

  9. Clearly crack. I mean look at the comment response.

    We have mostly escaped, because we told Clem the movie has some scary parts. She therefore refuses to watch it. Even the audio book version made her a bit nervous the other day (or so I hear). Wife and I just watched it a few weeks ago. We are fervent Idina Menzel and Kristen Bell fans, so it was inevitable. To our credit we DID refuse to call it a date night…but somehow “research night” doesn’t have the same romantic ring to it. We have not confessed the truth to Clem though. A few months ago when one of Clem’s friends was obsessively singing Let It Go, she asked us to sing it but gosh darn it we didn’t know the words. And as far as she knows we still don’t.

    That said, perhaps you can do what I did the other day, which was to tell her that if she needed to use the potty she should “Let me knoooooow, let me knoooooow.” Although given your current situation, I think the original lyrics are working just find…”the wet never bothered me anyway” and so forth.

    Holy word vomit, Batman. I blame the movie.

    • “The wet never bothered me anyway” THAT IS SO TRUE. Also, I’m totally going to invite my wife on a research night, although I admit we’ll probably pick something a little more…interesting…to research.

      On Sun, Jul 20, 2014 at 2:06 PM, Counting Chickens wrote:

      >

      • !!! Was that inappropriate? I am shocked and scandalized. Even more so [not really] than that time a drag king performed “A Whole New World” with a vibrator.

      • I would pay cash money to see that shit.

        On Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 6:49 PM, Counting Chickens wrote:

        >

Comments are closed.

