Gay and More Gay


Dancing in heels after a black tie dinner?

Add that to the list of things I didn’t expect to happen after the age of 25. On the other hand, maybe that’s only the sort of thing that happens after the age of 25. Our local Pride organization invited Debra and I to the Commonwealth Dinner that Equality Virginia holds. After a couple of years of being publicly gay in the press, it was an awesome thing to be publicly gay in an enormous ballroom full of other people being publicly gay.

I mean, not that we aren’t publicly ourselves all the time, it’s just…when was the last time you were surrounded by people who were gay? Not recently, right? I felt like we were actually in the majority, true or not, and it was an amazing thing. I’m always craving that particular sort of community.

Also, we got to dress up. And go dancing. And collapse in a gorgeous hotel. And have brunch (brunch!) with friends who are ALSO gay with kids. And stroll through a gorgeous part of Richmond on a perfect Sunday morning. We had an amazing time.

wives

 

6 Responses

  1. That’s so beautiful.

  2. Sounds like an awesome time! And yall look GREAT!!! It’s always nice to connect with people in your community…glad you danced the night away!

  3. It makes me think of West Side Story! Not the gangs and knives, of course. The song in the bridal shop–pretty and witty and gay! Do you pity any girl who isn’t you today? What fun!

  4. Lookin good! And more importantly, so happy!

  5. You both look amazing!! Stunning couple 🙂

  6. And you both look fantastic! I never thought I’d see the day when my dear home state avtualy supported marriage equality and I’ve never been so glad to be wrong.

Comments are closed.

