Nicknames

Yesterday, my daughter skidded her scooter to a stop next to me and said, “Mama, I gave myself a nickname.” I, of course because that is the best, said, “Oh? What is it?”

“I call myself RR the Explorer!” she announced. If she could have leaned on some reverb, I assure you she would have.

I melted then. I want this small person to be curious and a discoverer and investigate, but all too often it seems that she takes the status quo and settles comfortably into it.

There’s a dinosaur in the dining room, you say? Please give it some breakfast, too.
Hmmm. For some reason my room is blue instead of yellow. Well, that’ll do. Or even,
I’m really unhappy with the choices you gave me but since those are the choices, oh well.

When she was small she used to yell at us  THOSE ARE NOT MY CHOICES! but apparently we’ve either learned to offer the correct choices or she’s becoming complacent. In fact, at mealtimes when offered any sort of choice, she usually says “surprise me!” It’s sometimes exasperating to constantly watch her opt out of making a decision but I console myself with the fact that she accepts whatever you give her so at least she’s not picky about her surprises. This nickname though, it’s an excellent development.

Also, can I add that my daughter was riding a scooter? Because, you guys, that child can do a cartwheel off of a balance beam but she can’t ride anything with wheels. God forbid you ask her to pedal. It’s like you’ve asked her to put each of her markers into the fire one by one. A scooter! We’ve reached the big time!

3 Responses

  1. Mine loves her scooter, but hates riding a bike. To be honest, she’s not that good at it, but if you look around at where we live with no sidewalks and a hill in every direction, I get it. Also, I didn’t learn to ride a bike until I was almost 8. It’s highly over rated.
    Love her nickname.

  2. We have been working ALL SUMMER on 6 year old Little Monster losing his training wheels. Following a cry-fest practice session last week, he finally looked at us and declared, “You know what? I think we need to put the bike away and I will try again…when I am 9.” Sigh. But, woohoo go RR!!!!

  3. Love your kid.

Comments are closed.

